Find a Physician Browse
Find a Physician

20 local students receive South County Health scholarships

Published 06/16/2023

South County Health recently announced the recipients for its two annual scholarship programs – the Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarship and the Medical Staff Scholarship – providing financial support for education to 20 students, a tradition that has been ongoing for over 30 years, helping high school graduates pursue their passions.

The Medical Staff Scholarships are awarded to area students who are interested in pursuing a career in the medical field. Guidance counselors from local high schools are invited to nominate two students from their respective schools. The Medical Staff Scholarships are awarded to students who are entering post-secondary education and who demonstrate a combination of academic achievement and financial need.

The Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarships are awarded to area students entering post-secondary training who demonstrate a combination of academic achievement and financial need. The Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarship is awarded to children, grandchildren, or dependents of South County Health employees and volunteers. 

Medical Staff
Scholarship Recipients

  • Mya Amaral
  • Issabella Armstrong
  • Bridget Blessing
  • Kylee Bennett
  • Madeline Bormes
  • Ava Giguere
  • Abigail McAllister
  • Emma Michaud
  • Jillian Tierney
  • Ava Young

Scholarship Recipients

  • Jackson Borge
  • Aiden Hurley
  • Jack Jardin
  • Madison Vieira
  • Natalia McNeal
  • Ella Niedelman
  • Cameron Petrangelo
  • Landon Picillo
  • Aspen Spencer
  • Emily Thomas

The Medical Staff Scholarship is funded by members of the Medical Staff, while the Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarship is funded by philanthropy through generous gifts from donors. Both scholarships are processed annually in partnership with The Rhode Island Foundation.

Click here to contribute to to the Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarship

Thank you to the 2023 Scholarship Committee for their help in reviewing the impressive applications from the students.

Committee Members:  
  • Joseph M. Romanello, MD,
    Medical Staff Scholarship Committee Chair
  • David J. Chronley, MD
    Conrad-Nestor Walsh Scholarship Committee Chair
  • Alexander Lubin, MD
  • Angela Taber, MD
  • Diane McKeeff, NP
  • Joseph Brady, MD
  • Lisa M. Noyes-Duguay, MD
  • Rick Moffitt, PA
  • Sophia Avery, PA