Find a Physician Browse
Find a Physician

SCH Scholarships benefit local students

Published 06/24/2022

South County Health recently announced the recipients for its two annual scholarship programs – the Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarship and the Medical Staff Scholarship – providing financial support for education to 21 students, a tradition that has been ongoing for over 30 years, helping high school graduates pursue their passions.

The Medical Staff Scholarships are awarded to area students who are interested in pursuing a career in the medical field. Guidance counselors from local high schools are invited to nominate two students from their respective schools. The Medical Staff Scholarships are awarded to students who are entering post-secondary education and who demonstrate a combination of academic achievement and financial need.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Dylan Bellows
  • Kathryn Bourgeois
  • Nathan Champney
  • Bridget Fox
  • Hannah Jackson
  • Avery LeBlanc
  • Hannah Leclerc
  • Hugo Lehrach
  • Liam Manchester
  • Jack Watson
  • Ava Williston

The Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarships are awarded to students who are entering post-secondary training and who demonstrate a combination of academic achievement and financial need.

The student must be a child/grandchild/dependent of a current South County Health employee or volunteer.

Students who received Conrad-Nestor-Walsh scholarships this year are:

  • Benjamin Avedisian
  • Mitchell Daniell
  • Irene Eden
  • Alexandra Gencarelli
  • Alexander Hoff
  • Taylor Hurley
  • Drew Jalbert
  • Charles Krause
  • Megan Ruggieri
  • Abigail Smith

The 2022 Scholarship Committee reviewed numerous applications from the students. The Committee members include:

  • Eleni T. Pappas, DPM, Chairperson, Medical Staff Scholarship Committee
  • David J. Chronley, MD, Chairperson, Conrad-Nestor Walsh Scholarship
  • James F. Griffin, DO
  • Diane McKeeff, NP
  • Joseph M. Romanello, MD

About the Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarship
The Conrad-Nestor-Walsh Scholarship was founded by David Chronley, MD, in 1999 to honor two country doctors at South County Hospital.

Robert L. Conrad, a general surgeon, was on staff from 1965 to 2000 and was instrumental in improving the facilities, staff, and patient care at South County Hospital. He served as both President of the Medical Staff and Chief of Surgery. During his tenure he established the first EMT training in the state, the first radio communication between SCH and the rescue squads, and the first FAA-approved hospital heliport in New England.

Thomas A. Nestor, MD, a surgeon and family doctor, was on staff at SCH from 1946 to 1986 and was known for his formidable schedule and compassion for his patients. He made house calls until his retirement. Serving as a Major in WWII Parachute Infantry, Dr. Nestor made numerous jumps under fire to care for wounded soldiers on the battlefields of the South Pacific.

In 2021, this scholarship added a third name – Walsh – to honor another long time South County Hospital provider, John Walsh, MD who passed away in 2019.

He arrived at South County Hospital in 1953 where he spent 57 years of his 63-year medical career. He was the hospital's first board-certified surgeon and also served as the hospital's Chief of Surgery.

Dr. Walsh practiced general surgery until the age of 65 when he put away his scalpels. His retirement was short-lived and he spent the next 24 years in the Emergency Department at South County Hospital until the first day of his final retirement which coincided with his 89th birthday on January 1, 2011.